Lanzarote Car Hire - Politics

Request your quote now


Lanzarote is one of the seven islands that comprise the Autonomous Community of the Canary Islands, one of the 17 autonomous communities in Spain. The Canary Islands are also categorised as an ultra-peripheral region of the European Union. Therefore EU immigration and customs laws are applied in the archipelago with certain exceptions.

The Canary Archipelago also has its own Economic and Fiscal Regime (REF), with gives certain advantages to businesses established in the region. It has an autonomic government and a regional Parliament with broad legislative competences. Each island is divided into municipalities and has an island administration known as the Cabildo. Lanzarote has six municipalities.

Demographics: 127.457 residents.